The winners of the IDEA Awards have been announced, with architectural firm McBride Charles Ryan securing the Overall Winner prize.

The awards, now in their 10th year, recognised Australia’s finest interior and product design projects completed between January 1 2012 and May 25 this year.

Judges sifted through 450 initial entries to select winners and highly commended projects across 11 categories, along with five special awards.

The winners represent many recognisable architectural and design firms and projects including BURNS’ Australia House and Woods Bagot’s Sunday Apartments. Jeff Copolov of Bates Smart who secured the prestigious IDEA Gold Medal.

Overall Winner McBride Charles Ryan also won the Public Space category award for the firm’s landscape-focused Penleigh and Essendon Grammar School project. The design echoes an infinity shape structured around two courtyards to “enhance the learning spaces access to light, view and ventilation,” according to the architects. The project was also commended for its fluid interiors, which use colour, textured materials and spatial design to seamlessly connect spaces.

The independent awards program also works to support emerging designers with their own award category, won this year by Foolscap Studio.

Below is a full list of special award winners and winners in the 11 categories, including highly commended projects:

Special Awards:

Overall Winner
McBride Charles Ryan, Penleigh and Essendon Grammar School, Infinity Centre

McBride Charles Ryan

Designer of the Year
Tribe Studio

Tribe Studio

Emerging Designer
Foolscap Studio

Foolscap Studio

IDEA Gold Medal
Jeff Copolov, Bates Smart

Jeff Copolov

Sustainability Award
Environa Studio, The Wayside Chapel

Environa Studio

11 Award Categories:

The Living Room Theatre, I Love Todd Sampson

The Living Room Theatre

Highly Commended
Wrightson Stewart, La Boite Theatre Pop-up Bar
Foolscap Studio, The Richmond Weekender

Breathe Architecture, Captain Melville

Breathe Architecture

Highly Commended
Dreamtime Australia Design, Mr Wong
Chris Connell Design, Dukes Coffee Roasters

International Project
BURNS, Australia House


Highly Commended
Ian Moore Architects, 387 Tamaki Drive

Multi Residential
Woods Bagot, Sunday Apartments

Woods Bagot

Object – Furniture and Lighting
Koskela, Hoodie


Highly Commended
DesignByThem, Butter Chair
Simone LeAmon, Prima and Petit Ballerina

People’s Choice
Sumu Design, PDM International & Caon Studio, Qantas Singapore Lounge

Sumu Design

Public Space
McBride Charles Ryan, Penleigh and Essendon Grammar School, Infinity Centre

McBride Charles Ryan

Highly Commended
LAVA, Martian Embassy
Wilson Architects + Donovan Hill Architects in Association, Translational Research Institute

Residential Decoration
Molecule, Grong Grong Interior


Highly Commended
Hecker Guthrie, Evie Apartments – Display Suite
Greg Natale Design, Perikic House

Smart Design Studio, Optique

Smart Design Studio

Highly Commended
Kristin Green Architecture, Spring Street Grocer
MRTN Architects, Double Monk

Single Residential
Tribe Studio, House Maher

Tribe Studio

Highly Commended
John Wardle Architects, Fairhaven Residence
Breath Architecture, Into the Woods
Nicholas Gurney, The Studio

Workplace Over 1,000 square metres
Group GSA, A Working Community

Group GSA

Workplace Under 1,000 square metres
Assemble, Assemble Studio