Celebrating the 2014 NAWIC Awards

Individual excellence and exceptional teamwork has been recognised at the National
Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) NSW Chapter 2014 Awards for

The awards, held on Thursday 21 August at The Star in Sydney, were established in 1986 to honour the achievements and encourage the advancement of women in construction in New South Wales.

NAWIC’s NSW Chapter President, Sarah Hogan, says: “NAWIC’s Awards for Excellence program celebrates leadership, encourages women to take risks in their careers and helps them to establish important networks.

“The awards also highlight the qualities that women in our industry need to succeed – qualities such as teamwork and tenacity, collaboration and creativity – and underscore the contribution that women make to an industry that is vital to
Australia’s future.”

Raquel Rubalcaba, Senior Project Manager at Laing O’Rourke, was presented with the
prestigious Laing O'Rourke Crystal Vision Award.

Ms Rubalcaba implemented an industry-leading 26-week paid parental leave and flexible working policy at Laing O’Rourke. The policy combines paid parental leave with a keep-in-touch program, return to work coaching and flexible work options for
all employees.

“Raquel has encouraged meaningful change in her organisation that will support the careers of women in the construction sector. The judges were impressed by Raquel’s passion and drive to contribute to the industry in which she has been involved for 24
years. We salute Raquel as a role model for other women in the industry,” Ms Hogan says.

A panel of industry experts selected winners based on strict award criteria. Other category and merit winners include:

Master Builders Association & Clinton Recruitment Award for Team Innovation
Winner: Davenport Campbell for the QBE Global Head Office Project
Merit: Westpac Tenancy Fitout Team, comprising of Lend Lease and Geyer, for the Westpac Global Head Office

Lend Lease Scholarship for Future Leaders
Winner: Hannah Mahoney-Hayes, Structural Engineer, Taylor Thomson

Whittling DTZ University Scholarship
Winner: Alissa Thivakon, University of Newcastle

Brookfield Johnson Controls Tradesperson Scholarship
Winner: Kristina Murray, Home Control & Audio

MPA Award for Achievement in Construction, Refurbishment and Fit Out
Winner: Jade Nicholson, Site Engineer, Brookfield Multiplex, for the Charles Perkins Centre Project at the University of Sydney, Camperdown Campus

Brookfield Multiplex Award for Contribution to a Projects Development
Winner: Miranda Kossen-Markezic, Senior Project Engineer, Thiess, for the Frederickton to Eungai Pacific Highway Upgrade Project
Merit: Lucy Guerin, Jones Lang LaSalle, for her contribution to the Westpac Group Retail Program

John Holland Business Woman of the Year Award
Winner: Rachel Luchetti, Director, Luchetti Krelle

Acoustic Logic Award for Contribution to Sustainability
Winner: Esther Bailey, Better Buildings Partnership Manager, City of Sydney

Now Careers Project Management Award
Winner: Dominique Gill, Project Manager, Built

Stockland Award for Innovation in Design
Winner: Alex Wessling, Project Manager, MBMO Architects for the Sydney Adventist Hospital Stage 1 Redevelopment Project




*Please refer to our comment policy before submitting
 + Post Comment