Entries are now open for the Houses Awards, an annual program celebrating Australia’s best residential architecture.

Excellence is rewarded in nine categories, with the best architecturally designed house receiving the premier award of ‘Australian House of the Year’.  Category winners each receive a $1,000 cash prize and The Australian House of the Year Award winner receives a $5,000 cash prize.

The categories for 2015 are as follows:

  •  Australian House of the Year
  • New House under 200 square metres
  • New House over 200 square metres
  • House alteration and addition under 200 metres
  • House alteration and addition over 200 metres
  • Apartment or Unit Outdoor
  • Sustainability
  • House in a Heritage Context
  • Emerging Architecture Practice

 Each year, ‘Houses Awards’ entries provide a unique insight into contemporary residential design and the contribution that Australia’s architects and designers make to the way we live today. The awards showcase Australia’s finest architecture and most innovative projects, exciting interest from local and international media. Previous ‘Houses Awards’ winners continue to receive numerous accolades on both a national and global scale.

The jurors for 2015 have been appointed on the basis of their practical expertise, professional standing and high profile; crucial factors that underpin the program’s credibility. This year the jury consists of:

  • Stephanie Little, Founding Partner, Chenchow Little Architects (NSW)
  • Adrian Spence, Co-founder, Richards and Spence (QLD)
  • Kerstin Thompson, Principal, Kerstin Thompson Architects (VIC)
  • David Welsh, Partner, Welsh and Major (NSW)
  • Katelin Butler, Editor, Houses magazine (VIC)

Entry is open to all design professionals – both Australian and international. Projects must be individual dwellings designed primarily for residential occupation, located in Australia, and completed between 1 January 2014 and 28 February 2015.  Entries are encouraged from practices of all scales, specializations and locations. Projects may be entered in more than one category, where appropriate.

Entry submissions will be accepted until Friday 27 March, 2015. The shortlist will be published online by Friday 1 May, with awards and commendations to be presented at Melbourne’s NGV International on Friday 31 July.  Tickets will go on sale in May.

Houses is Australia’s leading residential architecture magazine for designers and their clients. Houses presents inspiring residential projects by Australia’s best architects and designers. These projects reveal the way that a house, through occupation, becomes a home – the architectural ideas, and the people and products behind them. Houses includes extensive pictorial coverage and engaging stories together with floor plans and detailed lists of the products used.  It is the only publication to carry endorsements from both the Australian Institute of Architects and the Design Institute of Australia.